Uncategorized

August Wrap Up, 7in7 readathon

Well August has been the definition of a good reading month for me. Not going to lie, my discovery of Graphic Novels has been a real help with this, but still, I believe this is the most books I have ever read in a single month. I participated in two readathons, which also helped with having such a successful reading month. At the start of the month I joined in on the 7in7 readathon, which I loved the concept of. Such a supportive but laid back readathon, where you can read whatever you want as long as you aim to read 7 things. Doesn’t even have to be books, it can just be chapters, or finishing books. I did do a TBR for this readathon, however I did divert from it quite a lot; as I only read graphic novels, I’m just going to list them:

Maximum Ride vol 1, Shakespeare’s Henry V, Twilight vol 1, Supergirl vol 1, Twilight vol2.

These were all really cool, quick easy reads. Don’t get me wrong, I definitely still prefer a novel, but they are a bit of fun when you have a lot of other things to do. Sadly, as you can see, I didn’t manage the full 7, but I did start a day late, and was busy, so I’m proud of what I managed.

Deathnote vol1&2…

I read a lot of this during the readathon as it is another graphic novel, however annoyingly I didn’t finish it till the next day. This by far, is proving to be my favourite graphic novel series, and did lead me to buy the next bindup of vols 3&4. I gave this 5 stars, as I did love it completely!!

Red Queen by Christina Henry…

I started this in July, and had been longing to finish it. Such a good dark continuing of the classic Alice in Wonderland tale. I have done a full review of this if you wanted to go and have a look.  I gave this 4stars

The Glittering Court…

I was determined to finish some of the many books I had left half finished and this was one of those. Admittedly I wasn’t too fussed about picking it back up, Id been left rather disappointed when I had first stared this novel, however as it was Richelle Mead, I felt the need to give it another try. I ended up giving it 3.5 stars, and it did definitely improve from the start. A full review is coming soon.

Three Sisters, Three Queens…

Not going to lie, I diverted from my TBR majorly from this point on! I couldn’t stand to leave this novel unread after going to the launch. Philippa Gregory is a queen in historical literature, and I especially love her Tudor work, so this was very exciting! I blitz this novel in only a few days and it was superb!! I may do a full review of this month, so keep an eye out. I gave this 5 stars.

Deathnote vol3&4…

I’m fully in love with this graphic novel series, its just so full of suspense and yet darkly funny in an odd way. I love seeing the twists and turns that it throws and the art work is fabulous. However I gave this 4 out of 5 stars as it just wasn’t quite as good as the first bindup, with parts being predictable.

The Lady Elizabeth by Alison Weir…

Once again this is diverting from my TBR but I was really in the mood for an historical fiction. This is a classic example of just how good a writer Alison Weir is. Loved this from start to finish which is impressive for a novel when you know what is going to happen…

MY September TBR will go live next week, as this turned too long for me to include it here! How was August for you?

 

Leave a Reply

