Uncategorized

Passenger -Lisa Lutz

That’s it, I am hooked on identity based thrillers; or to be fair thrillers in general. I got sent this diamond by the lovely Titan books, so a big thank you for that; I think I liked this one even more than I did The Vanishing Year the other week. I flew through this and was sad to have to put it down to do the day to day things. I want to start with just stating how amazingly soft the cover of this novel is. A bizarre way to start, I know, but it was the first thought I had when I received this book; I would go as far as to say that this is the softest cover of a book that I have ever owned!!

Right, now that I’ve got that out, I’ll crack on with the review for this book. This is only the second thriller I have honestly read, so I am very new to the genre; however this is my favourite one so far! From beginning to end this was gripping- trying to work out the past that is constantly referred to.

Throughout the novel, the main character moves from one identity to another which is indicated through title pages at each section. However I honestly don’t think this is needed; with each new identity you could tell the new personality, while still holding on to the original core character. IT was so cleverly done that you didn’t forget who she was meant to be, instead it was so clear the person she was trying to be. I loved this as I sometimes do have problems with character switching like this.

I think possibly the only problem I had with this book was a small section where it was rather slow. Without giving too much away, there’s a few chapter where she is more or less on her own, and because of this it did slow down the pace of the book quite significantly. Because it was rather clear that this was just a stage in the characters journey I was waiting to see where it was going which made me just want her to re-emerge into the world and continue her story. However it was still brilliantly written and intriguing, I just found I wanted the story to move on at this stage.

The novel as a whole was so unique to anything I’ve ever heard of, and was so well done. With only one key character this could of been a very distant novel that you couldn’t engage with; however this was not the case. I was highly invested into our main character and I was praying all would work out through the entirety. There was fabulous character development, seeing how all the separate event shaped our character- showing a huge change in mind state without doing the over used full 360.

I gave this a 4.5 out of 5 stars, and I HIGHLY recommend it. Perfect for the spooky season this will have you on the edge of your seat from start to finish, and have you want to get to the end as fast as you can to work out what caused it all.

 

2 thoughts on “Passenger -Lisa Lutz

Leave a Reply

