Uncategorized

January Reads & February TBR

It’s time for my first wrap-up and TBR of the year, and I am definitely excited!! The plan for this year is to do it slightly different as to how I did it last year, with both parts being in the one post for a start. My wrap up, or monthly reads, is going to be just a list of all the books that I read and I’ll then talk about my favourite and my least favourite; I’ll only talk about the other books if I have something specific to say about it. As do my TBR, I’m going to be mentioning the books I’m reviewing this month, and again will only mention others I’m hoping to read if I know I’m going to have the time for them- just because I never managed to complete a TBR last year. So lets get this started…

I just want to start by saying that January was an outstanding reading month for me!! I got through a total of seven books through the month, most of which were full novels- only one graphic novel. So the book were:

  • The Dry by Jane Harper
  • The Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith
  • Hold Back the Stars by Katie Khan
  • Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman
  • Percy Jackson The Graphic Novel; Vol 1 by Rick Riordan
  • Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie
  • Dear Amy by Helen Callaghan

My top book for the month had to be, hands down, Hold Back the Stars; a refreshing unique and beautiful Sci-fi romance. As I said in my review, its a genre I would not normally go for, and yet it had my hooked and I read it in 3 sittings- I can see this definitely being a reread in the future.

The worst book is hard to decide, as none of the books this month stood out to be unenjoyable. I think I would probably decide Girls on Fire and The Reflections of Queen Snow White; but it was definitely a tough month as there was so many fabulous book read this month. They both ended up with 3 out 5 star ratings but for different reasons- you can look at the Girls on Fire review for my reasons there, but with Reflections, it was because it just read as if it was not yet finished and was still in draft form. Although both were still enjoyable reads that I would recommend.

Right onto my TBR. I have quite a few reviews and blog tours booked this month, so these are the books I’m going to read this month in order to do these- some I have already read by the time this will go out, plus even managed some not on this list.

  • Blackout by Marc Elsberg
  • Snatch by Gregory Mcdonald
  • The Killing Bay by Chris Ould
  • The Orphan’s Tale by Pam Jenoff
  • Incendium by A.D Swanston
  • In the Name of the Family by Sarah Dunant

Hopefully this is do-able and I honestly think it is, but ideally it’ll be really good if I could manage to read the next volume of Deathnote and also The Throne of Glass, but I can see the latter being unlikely. What were your favourite reads of last month? Any books you’re excited to read this month?

 

Leave a Reply

