Uncategorized

Across Great Divides by Monique Roy

I’m slowly falling in love with World War historical fiction novels; before recently they were something I find of avoided but I’m finding that I love European settings and strong female leads. Welcome to this stop of the blog tour, hopefully you’ve already been convinced that this novel is a MUST read, but just in case if not, I’ll put in my little say. I’d like to start by thanking Jenny from Neverland Blog Tours, and Monique Roy herself for gifting me a copy of this gorgeous book for my Kindle, it is much appreciated and enjoyed. thumbnail_AGD_Cover

Across Great Divides is a timeless, World War II story of the upheavals of war, the power of family, and the resiliency of human spirit. When Hitler comes to power in 1933, one Jewish family refuses to be destroyed and defies the Nazis only to come up against another struggle—confronting Apartheid in South Africa. As Jews, life becomes increasingly difficult for identical twin sisters Eva and Inge under the oppressive and anti-Semitic laws of Nazi Germany. After witnessing the horrors of Kristallnacht, they flee their beloved homeland, finally finding a new home for themselves in the beautiful country of South Africa; however, just as things begin to feel safe, their new home becomes caught up in its own battles of bigotry and hate under the National Party’s demand for apartheid. Will Eva and Inge ever be allowed to live in peace? Across Great Divides is a tale of one family’s struggle to survive in a world tainted with hate, and the power of love that held them all together.

For this review I have a few things to say, so hopefully I can encourage you to go read a novel that you will love.

By far the most enjoyable part of this novel for me, was the beginning interactions of the twins with the young Nazi followers; the battle between sticking to your beloved religion and family, and having the natural desires to interact with peers. This novel clenched my heart at times, with them discovering the metaphorical distant being put between them and their close friends for reasons that they don’t full seem to grasp to begin. Not only was it heart wrenching for the story, but I couldn’t help but think back to how this would of happened in real life at the time, children would of experienced this split between ‘German’ and ‘Jewish’.

By no means have I gone throw anything to the degree that these girls went through, but I did find myself relating to Eva. There is something about these characters that just connects to you, and tugs on your heart and soul. I found that they carried you through this story as you just hoped with all you have that they would find both safety and happiness; that they could get on with their lives and be safe, well and free.

If there is a weakness for this, it would have to be that I found it a touch slow in parts. Normally I like to of covered all that is mentioned in the blurb in the first few chapters, but this I found was slower than that. This did not necessarily make it a bad book, just that you had just persevere with it for a bit longer before becoming full immersed- but YOU WILL be full immersed.

So I hope that if you haven’t already, that this has you running to buy your ebook copy or on to buy yourself a precious copy to hold and love.

Or you can enter into the giveaway being run over this blog tour to be in for the chance to win one of two copies, this fantastic book. To enter click here and don’t forget to tweet out about the fact you have entered- Good luck!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

