Uncategorized

Blood Rose by Danielle Rose

This one is a first for me, I cant say that I have read an adult vampire or witchey book before; sure I have read child or Young Adult books like this before, but definitely not New Adult or higher. Blood Rose was almost nostalgic in that sense that it was similar to story lines that I used to love as a child, but to some extent that was also its downfall. As normal, Id like to thank the publisher, OfTomes Publishing, for sending me an early Kindle copy for me to read and review; I highly appreciate each and every opportunity I get offered.

There’s no wrath like that of a witch scorned.
As one of the only spirit users in her coven, Avah has been chosen to wield The Power, the ultimate weapon against the immortal vampire species witches have been at war with for centuries.
But on the night of her birth rite, Avah’s coven is attacked. Forced to seek refuge among the very beings she’s sworn to kill, Avah vows revenge on those who took her former life from her.
As Avah slowly transitions into a life of blood and war, she realizes everything she’s been told is a lie. (from Goodreads)

No-one can deny that this novel is one that can be easily enjoyed by most people, with its easy to read writing style, fast paced plot and beautiful descriptions. But sadly this novel is not without its flaws.

As a teenager I read a lot of Vampire based fiction, and I mean A LOT, and I think that has been the reason why this book was a bit of a let down in terms of uniqueness, and freshness. This highly reminded me of one of my favourite series as a child, ‘House of Night’. There was definitely a handful of differences, but I felt that these were more based on the audience rather than the actual plot; the characters were that bit older so therefore the relationships were that bit more grown up compared to the school aged relationships in the HoN series.

Although this being said, this is a first in a series, so the plot may twist and take on a route of its own that defers from other books; for that reason I certainly will be continuing with the series.

‘Blood Rose’ is definitely an enjoy read if you just want something easy to follow and reconnect with books from your childhood in a more adult setting; so despite my negatives I do recommend it. All I would advice is you go into it not expecting anything overly out-there or different; but as said, I’m hoping this will change. I gave this novel a steady 3 out of 5 stars as I did enjoy it, and flew through it in a couple of days; now to wait in anticipation for the next one!

Leave a Reply

