Uncategorized

Lost Boy by Christina Henry

Last year, Titan Books introduced my to a fabulous author whom I had never heard of nor their books; wow was I missing out before. After reading Alice in a single day, I brought Red Queen the same day and was left craving for more; finally I got what I needed, ‘Lost Boy’ and it was even better than the others.I can not thank Lydia from Titan Books enough for both the opportunity to review Lost Boy and for introducing me to the work of Christina Henry in the first place.

There is one version of my story that everyone knows. And then there is the truth. This is how it happened. How I went from being Peter Pan’s first—and favourite—lost boy to his greatest enemy.

Peter brought me to his island because there were no rules and no grownups to make us mind. He brought boys from the Other Place to join in the fun, but Peter’s idea of fun is sharper than a pirate’s sword. Because it’s never been all fun and games on the island. Our neighbours are pirates and monsters. Our toys are knife and stick and rock—the kinds of playthings that bite.

Peter promised we would all be young and happy forever. (from Goodreads)

I love fairy tales and Disney stories just as they are, and yet Christina Henry manages to twist them or their characters, make them dark and twisted- somehow just even better than the original.

Before discovering Christina Henry last year I cant say I was even aware that I liked horror novels; I really dislike horror movies, so had just avoided anything ‘horror’- but that being said I was drawn to try Alice because I loved the concept of a what happened to her next kind of novel. Lost Boy was exactly the same for me; I cant say I have ever read about how captain hook came about, and especially not from the idea that he had once been a friend of Peter Pan’s.

With all of her books ( that I have read ), Christina Henry has a flowing, beautiful style of writing, that keeps you hooked and progressing through the novel. With fantastic characters that have you yearning for their success and survival- epic settings that you can vividly picture, often having you quaking with uncertainty and fear. Yet, for horror novels they leave you so contented, although not always the happiest, they are so well written that you want to just keep going from each of her books.

There is no question for me as to what I would rate Lost Boy; an easy 5 star book! A must read for absolutely anyone that loves fantasy, horror, or even just fairy tales. I can honestly not wait for her next novel, I constantly crave her work!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

